BMW S1000RR Forum banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
502 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been riding on/off for over 20 years. I have always used both front and rear brakes together. I would say I used both brakes 70% of the time and 30% front only. Depends on the turn I'm taking. I find that applying both brakes slows the bike down with minimal weight transfer. My riding style on the street/highway/backroads is fast/hard and somewhat of a hooligan/maniac. Just being honest. On the track I ride at an intermediate pace. I haven't been on the track much but hopefully with my new bike that will change.

Now onto the rear brake. When I apply the rear brake I don't slam it down. I apply just enough to slow the rear wheel with the front. At times I may use it to help back me into a turn. Many times I will apply the rear brake right before applying the front brake then while applying the front I ease off the rear as the weight transfers and the rear gets light. Sounds like a lot of work but It's like a reflex. I just do it without even thinking about it.

This post is not to bash anyone's riding style. Just making conversation and looking to see if others use their rear brake with the front.

·
Registered
139 Posts
I rarely use my back brake. Usually just for low speed maneuvering like lane splitting or riding around tight roundabouts when I only use the back brake and no front brake. I think using the back brake for normal riding adds an unnecessary input which serves to possibly upset the bike. Another use for the back brake is to tighten the cornering angle but I would only do that in an emergency situation.

·
Vendor
2,077 Posts