BMW S1000RR Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all! Looking into purchasing my first BMW bike. Particularly a 15-18 s1000rr. What are some things I can look for when buying a bike used from a private seller? Im not a new rider, so I know to check the chain, brakes, sprockets, all the normal maintenance things. But am not so knowledgeable on what to look for in the s1000. Please enlighten me. All feedback is welcomed and thanked.

Cheers!

·
Registered
208 Posts
since im new to the BMW as well I ask for any and all receipts for service work done. then I was able see what the previous owner did to the bike and if he did any of the mileage interval work to get an idea of what id have to do if I bought it and also if he took care of it or just thrashed it. lol. I probably got lucky as he had everything since brand new. dealer did everything for him. got mine for a track bike so wanted to try to get a solid one.

prolly not much help but one thing i did.

good luck!!

·
Registered
208 Posts
right on! yeah some of the services cost some cash so be nice to know if they did em. on mine the dealer changed some stuff they called an open campaign for like the turn signal switches etc all for no cost and a couple other things too on mine. my 12 was super clean so doubt it had a problem but was changed anyway. with that i could tell the previous owner didnt thrash it, he left that part for me. 😇 haha

if theres any mods id see if they are done right and nice if they're quality parts or not. 😎

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Hell yea man! I appreciate it. I'll definitely check the record and see whats accounted for. He did mention all his services were done at a BMW dealer so I'm hoping for an extensive record.

·
Registered
208 Posts
Sweet!! If not and your curious what some may have cost definitely feel free to message me. mines older but could be similar and i can let ya know what they did for a rough idea. 😎

·