BMW S1000RR Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys,
I'm new to motorcycle track days, and would like to know what are the best ways to get into the sport? I am located in King of Prussia, PA.
I went to my first one last fall with California Superbike School at NJMP, and therefore fell in love with the S1000RR and how I ended up here.

I would like to do 2-3 per year (spring, summer, fall ideally), trying to stay within a 1.5 hour radius to where I live if possible.
Does it make more sense to join a club to do so?
What are the best beginner classes / clubs around?
Any road courses to stay away from?

Looking forward to meet you folks!

·
Registered
478 Posts
2-3 times a year, I guarantee that will change.
I said the same and now do about 12 a year.

As SRO mentioned, NJMP is a great track to attend if you don't plan on commuting far. Summit may be about 2 hours away from you, but also very cool track. Motorcycle Xcitement who hosts track days there are awesome.

You can attend any organization as a guest whether teampromotion or Absolute Cycle. All depends upon how often you want to go will be the determining factor when signing up.
Do you plan on trailering your bike there or riding?

I also do Sunday rides with another forum member on here to Ephrata if you were ever interested.

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
@s-eins I would be down for a ride out to Ephrata when you all go. What's out there? PM me details anytime!

I'm not really certain yet, I'd like to get a vehicle which I could trailer, but don't have one today. Might try it with riding out to start, but I know it'll be somewhat awful (not sure where I'll put drinks / tools / etc). I used to do car track days, but there is not a feeling of "man and machine" quite like motorcycles!

·
Registered
145 Posts
Count me in for an Ephrata run. PM if anyone is going.