BMW S1000RR Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of JULY's Ride of the Month Challenge!
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys, I'm new to BMW motorcycles. I currently own a 05 gsxr 6 and it's old news. I'm intrested in purchasing a bad ass bike, let's says the s1000rr. I'm having trouble finding a dealership then again I haven't try too hard to look around. I'm just being lazy wondering if anyone from the northeast area that bought this machaine with info about a dealer and the costs of business. I would appricate it. Thax

ps. What bike do you choose? (Ducatti 1098s < Bmw s1000rr) :confused:

·
Registered
660 Posts
Not sure where in NY you are located but I checked price and availability from these three dealers: Country Rode Motowerks near Rochester, NY, Two Jacks near Scranton, PA and Max BMW in Troy, NY. First two would have to order bike and wanted MSRP. Max had bike in stock and was $500 off list. No brainer for me even though it was an extra couple hours drive round trip.

1098S overpriced for what you get compared to S1000RR IMO!

·
Registered
38 Posts
I got mine from Max BMW in Troy. They were able to get the bike on time as promised and offered a fair trade in on my 1098S. I wasn't overly impressed with my salesman in person though. At least I got my bike...

As far as a comparison of the 1098S to the S1000RR...

"As far as riding the bike. It's pretty soft down low compared to the Ducati. I've ridden V-twins for years and wasn't really sure I'd even enjoy riding an inline four again. My bike before the Ducati was an RC51, and before that a CBR600.

Similarities...hmm, they both have two wheels and run on gasoline? That's about where the comparison ends really.