BMW S1000RR Forum banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
'17 BMW S1000rr, '04 BMW R1100s, '02 Ducati Foggy SR2 (916)
41 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
hello!
i feel weird riding tucked in on the highway but it's so much quieter! i'm not talking about when you're speeding around, i'm talking about on long trips with cruising speeds around 80-90 mph. i'm a professional sound/audio engineer and i try and minimize as much wind noise as i can. have a pretty quiet helmet, wear ear plugs and a balaclava even in the summer to reduce as much as possible.

firstly, cops don't like seeing you tucked in, makes you look fast even if you're not. and second, and i know i shouldn't care what other people think, i feel self conscious somehow, like i'm a noob or something. anyone else get that feeling? i do it anyway once i'm doing over 75 mph the wind is pretty loud and i have to tuck in. when i don't my ears are ringing in the evening time. and there really is no mid-tuck as far as wind reduction on a sport bike.

·
Registered
103 Posts
hello!
i feel weird riding tucked in on the highway but it's so much quieter! i'm not talking about when you're speeding around, i'm talking about on long trips with cruising speeds around 80-90 mph. i'm a professional sound/audio engineer and i try and minimize as much wind noise as i can.

first cops don't like seeing you tucked in, makes you look fast even if you're not. and second, and i know i shouldn't care what other people think, i feel self conscious somehow, like i'm a noob or something. anyone else get that feeling? i do it anyway once i'm doing over 75 mph the wind is pretty loud and i have to tuck in. when i don't my ears are ringing in the evening time. and there really is no mid-tuck as far as wind reduction on a sport bike.