BMW S1000RR Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hi all,

newbie here, saying hello!
Based in North east England and racing mad.

Trying to absorb everything about the S1000RR but just discovered it so go easy please.

Had lots of petrolhead fun over the years but got a new 3 year plan that includes a S1000RR to be bought v soon and, after I have learnt to ride it fast enough, convert it into race trim and compete, eventually.(part of the 3 year plan!)

So, if I could ask a couple of questions for starters please...

# Does anyone, from the North East of England, club race a S1000RR at present?
# Are all S1000RR's the same spec wise or is there a specific model that is closer to a club racer than the other models?

Thanks for your patience reading this far with a newbies 1st post!

Brian P.

·
Registered
76 Posts
Have you got prior racing experience or are you thinking about starting racing with a 1000cc superbike ?

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
hi Wiwee,

I guess I am starting again from scratch as my club racing was on Nortons and Velos in the 70s and 80s.

I guess you think I am mad rather than just racing mad... ;)

Brian P.

·
Vendor
7,705 Posts
Performance-wise, the options of Race ABS, DTC, and Quickshifter are about the only differences. HP/Torque on all models is the same. I've seen some Carbon editions over seas but forgot what Country that was offered in. From what I can tell that's about it. Someone posted a Video of a Race Ready S1000RR that had different fairings (race fairings) but I haven't seen that version for sale anywhere... so maybe they were just talking about the rest of the technical aspect of the bike (ABS/DTC/Quickshift/etc.).

Welcome aboard BTW!

·
Registered
116 Posts
If you go on the MCN site there a dealer in England that will sell you a fully set up S1000RR in race trim,it will save you time and money buying a street and setting it up for race,

·
Registered
7 Posts