Can't do diagnostic, no signal on K-Line - BMW S1000RR Forums: BMW Sportbike Forum
 4Likes
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-31-2019, 10:48 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 13
Can't do diagnostic, no signal on K-Line

Hi,
I dropped bike on side.
After that I started bike and run for 20Km, after that bike shutdown and showed me VDS error.
I tried many things:
- Inserted working VDS sensor
- Checked battery and replaced with good battery
- Checked fuses
And nothing

When I insert key I got only VDS error..and I don't hear fuel pump.

I go to service and they try to do diagnostic but bike wont connect on ECU. They say no signal on K-Line.

Bike is S1000RR 2010 bayed with original alarm as equipment.

Any suggestion? Why no signal on K-Line?
Can be alarm problem and is he responsible coz no signal on K-Line?

Can I somehow avoid alarm or what to do to get communication with bike?
nicolass is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-31-2019, 12:58 PM
Moderator
 
skapan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Toronto Canada
Posts: 6,336
Check for blown fuse. With multimeter. What diagnostic hardware/software are you using?
skapan is offline  
Old 10-31-2019, 01:08 PM
Lifetime Member
 
BMW_388's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,958
Quote:
Originally Posted by nicolass View Post
Hi,
I dropped bike on side.
After that I started bike and run for 20Km, after that bike shutdown and showed me VDS error.
I tried many things:
- Inserted working VDS sensor
- Checked battery and replaced with good battery
- Checked fuses
And nothing

When I insert key I got only VDS error..and I don't hear fuel pump.

I go to service and they try to do diagnostic but bike wont connect on ECU. They say no signal on K-Line.

Bike is S1000RR 2010 bayed with original alarm as equipment.

Any suggestion? Why no signal on K-Line?
Can be alarm problem and is he responsible coz no signal on K-Line?

Can I somehow avoid alarm or what to do to get communication with bike?
The !VDS has so many meanings in the BMW electronics. Most think it is Vertical Drop Sensor. While it can point to the VDS, it is usually not the issue. However what is usually the problem you have already addressed it appears. The battery get a dead cell in it. While the battery can show 11.9 volts with a multi-meter, when you actually try to start the bike with the starter you get nothing. Wont turn over. The VDS has no meaning for this battery issue, that is just what BMW decided to put up on the cluster when the battery is not working correctly.

The alarm can be the issue too. Because the alarm is the CAN BUS terminator. If the alarm is not plugged into the connector at the rear of the bike, then you have to have the CAN BUS terminator plug in there. This will cause different issues on the cluster. Some like 17-19 will put a red engine light and show NO CAN on the cluster. Seems I remember seeing !VDS on the 10/11 because of this issue in wiring on the CAN BUS.

If you find the issue is the alarm, I can remove the coding for the alarm system from the ECU. Just be sure you have a terminator plug to put back in there. I have those also if needed.
smash adams likes this.
BMW_388 is offline  
 
Old 10-31-2019, 02:04 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by skapan View Post
Check for blown fuse. With multimeter. What diagnostic hardware/software are you using?
I see that they use TEXA Navigator TXT.

Fuses are ok.
nicolass is offline  
Old 10-31-2019, 05:40 PM
Moderator
 
skapan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Toronto Canada
Posts: 6,336
As far as removing the alarm, on the 2010-11-12 I know for sure that you don't need the alarm module or the terminator cap. The system on that version is pretty dumb. The only time it needs it is if you try to update the software, then it looks to see if everything is as originally configured. But for 2017, for sure it's needed, or the traction control goes mental. But this guy's bike is a 2010.
smash adams and BMW_388 like this.
skapan is offline  
Old 10-31-2019, 06:34 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by skapan View Post
As far as removing the alarm, on the 2010-11-12 I know for sure that you don't need the alarm module or the terminator cap. The system on that version is pretty dumb. The only time it needs it is if you try to update the software, then it looks to see if everything is as originally configured. But for 2017, for sure it's needed, or the traction control goes mental. But this guy's bike is a 2010.

What I need to do to remove alarm? I just need to unplug or?

I got VDS on board..but K-Line not work. It looks that CAN-BUS work between ECU and display..but for diagnostic he use K-Line...and something cut that off
nicolass is offline  
Old 10-31-2019, 07:51 PM
Moderator
 
bennymx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,125
Check that the pins are not backed out of the diagnostic connector. You can check the ICOM and see which lights are working and which ones aren't. Also check on ISTA at the dealer if you have terminal 15.
bennymx is online now  
Old 11-01-2019, 02:57 AM
Senior Member
 
speedfinn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Finland
Posts: 768
Quote:
Originally Posted by nicolass View Post
I dropped bike on side.
When I insert key I got only VDS error..and I don't hear fuel pump.
Bike is S1000RR 2010
I had the same error in my 2011 after crashing it on track.
Remove battery.
Check the IMU unit wireing, it is behind the battery, a box with white cover, one screw on both sides.
Disconnect the IMU unit, install battery, power on off, connect IMU unit.
smash adams likes this.

2011 s1000rr track bike inc. rck2 k-techDDS DunlopKR
speedfinn is online now  
Old 11-01-2019, 03:00 AM
Senior Member
 
speedfinn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Finland
Posts: 768
Check also for loose relays.

2011 s1000rr track bike inc. rck2 k-techDDS DunlopKR
speedfinn is online now  
Old 11-01-2019, 08:07 AM
Moderator
 
skapan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Toronto Canada
Posts: 6,336
Yes, on the earlier versions you can unplug the alarm and remove it. Sometime after that things changed, and you need either the cap with the resistor or the alarm.
skapan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
 

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the BMW S1000RR Forums: BMW Sportbike Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Thread Tools



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome