alpha perfomance dash installation issue - BMW S1000RR Forums: BMW Sportbike Forum
 4Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old 04-13-2016, 01:28 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 9
alpha perfomance dash installation issue

I recently bought a alpha performance plug and play color dash for a 2012 s1000 rr my problem is mounting the dash in order for the headights and signals to work I have to piggy back the dash on top of my original dash I'm wondering how it will look and if anyone has done it for street use with pics of dash please
ghostrr1000 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 15 (permalink) Old 04-13-2016, 02:54 PM
Vendor
 
MotoMillion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: NY State
Posts: 3,433
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by ghostrr1000 View Post
I recently bought a alpha performance plug and play color dash for a 2012 s1000 rr my problem is mounting the dash in order for the headights and signals to work I have to piggy back the dash on top of my original dash I'm wondering how it will look and if anyone has done it for street use with pics of dash please
The Alpha dash can't control the lights, there is no work around for it.

What you can try to do is to remove the light controller from your factory dash.

The Alpha dash is only designed for racing and they've said there won't be any work around released for the lights.
MotoMillion is offline  
post #3 of 15 (permalink) Old 04-13-2016, 05:31 PM
Senior Member
 
Alterego's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 289
Sorry you bought one send it back, problematic

2015 Ducati 1299
2010 S1000rr
2009 Busa
2001 Yamaha R1

17 time World and National Land Speed Records
Visit my facebook race page at
https://www.facebook.com/Kerry-Alter...7783754232542/
Alterego is offline  
 
post #4 of 15 (permalink) Old 04-13-2016, 07:39 PM
Vendor
 
MotoMillion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: NY State
Posts: 3,433
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alterego View Post
Sorry you bought one send it back, problematic
Elaborate?
MotoMillion is offline  
post #5 of 15 (permalink) Old 04-13-2016, 07:45 PM
Moderator
 
bennymx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,136
I think he maybe misinterpreted what the dash is used for. It's for racing not street use.
bennymx is offline  
post #6 of 15 (permalink) Old 04-14-2016, 12:22 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 9
actually I was told it would work for street use by George from alphaperfomance if piggy backed it to original dash I guess not so if anyone knows of other digital dashes that would work id appreciate any recommendations I would really like to change it
ghostrr1000 is offline  
post #7 of 15 (permalink) Old 04-14-2016, 12:25 AM
Senior Member
 
Luker669's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Lubbock TX
Posts: 2,550
I'm not going to give my opinion on alpha USA and George but you should have done some research on him !
Luker669 is offline  
post #8 of 15 (permalink) Old 04-14-2016, 12:43 AM
sro
Moderator
 
sro's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Maryland
Posts: 9,640
Quote:
Originally Posted by ghostrr1000 View Post
actually I was told it would work for street use by George from alphaperfomance if piggy backed it to original dash I guess not so if anyone knows of other digital dashes that would work id appreciate any recommendations I would really like to change it

Think about what it would take to get it working. You would have to hide your stock dash and splice it into your wiring harness. What other way could you get both of them to work.
sro is offline  
post #9 of 15 (permalink) Old 04-14-2016, 04:25 AM
Senior Member
 
Newf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Bangkok, Thailand
Posts: 126
Alpha dash doesn't use the original dash connections, So it is possible but trying to hide the stock dash somewhere or having two dashes on display would be a little messed up.


Sent from Motorcycle.com Free App
Newf is online now  
post #10 of 15 (permalink) Old 04-14-2016, 08:02 AM
Moderator
 
bennymx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,136
Sounds like a complete waste of time to me.
Nin01 likes this.
bennymx is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the BMW S1000RR Forums: BMW Sportbike Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome