Top speed run - BMW S1000RR Forums: BMW Sportbike Forum
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By Mr-Dicks

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 08-21-2019, 03:02 AM Thread Starter

Top speed run

Hey guys,

I have tried searching here and Google and Youtube but I get results relating mainly to quarter mile drag racing. I'm probably getting the keywords incorrect, so apologies if this is a duplicate post, but please point me in the right direction, if so.

On to my question:

I will be entering my bike on a 800m (half mile) top speed competition on September 8th. It's my first time riding my bike in competition. The winner is the one with the highest top speed. So although you may be racing a competitor, you could still win the race (and event) by getting a higher speed, as opposed to a quicker ET or winning heads up.

Firstly, what is the relationship between acceleration and top speed? I have been told that "launching" as if you're racing a quarter mile actually reduces top speed. Why is this? And what would be the best way to accelerate down the strip for this type of racing?

Secondly, what tips do you have for me to get the best top speed possible. My bike is completely stock apart from 520 lightweight chain and sprockets, DNA air filter, and Akra slip on. I have standard (close to replacement) Bridgestone S20 evos on the standard cast rims. My bike recently dyno'd at 197hp/117Nm on a local dyno (I'm in Cape Town South Africa) - yes I know it's just a number. No flash. No piggy back fuelling.

Would it help me to remove as much weight as possible like the indicators and mirrors and passenger footpegs and number plate cluster etc? Would it help if I had the bike lowered (just for the day as I still enjoy the all round ability of my bike). Should I over inflate or deflate the tyres? What should the DDC suspension settings be?