2020 S1kRR - Gilles Rearsets - Rear Brake Components and CF Wheel failure/Debris - BMW S1000RR Forums: BMW Sportbike Forum
 11Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 10-15-2019, 10:40 PM Thread Starter

2020 S1kRR - Gilles Rearsets - Rear Brake Components and CF Wheel failure/Debris

Was headed out to break in my new 2020S1kRR on Sunday and at 127 miles my CF Wheel failed, pads roasted, caliper changed color and rotor is rainbowed from heat with a pot of gold at the end of it. I've been riding liter bikes for about 20 years now with trackdays and this is my 3rd S1000RR.

at 10 miles Gilles Rearsets were installed. The rear brake light could be activated and deactivated with pressure on the brake lever. The brake lever had range with pressure. That said, it did not have play before activating the brake light. The instructions very specifically state in bold print with an exclamation No Adjustments to the Actuating Rod!. It felt tight but with the light activating and deactivating, seemed to be working as intended.

Day before after a very short ride parking the bike in the garage the rear brake activates on the incline and wont let go. I experienced Hill Start Control, but it was supposed to let go. I read up and turned it off in the settings.

On the ride the next day about 40 miles in we were in a stop light area. In 2nd I pull in the clutch around 40-45 to coast to a stop at the cars in front of me. The rear brake locks. It stops me well early of the car in front of me. Confused and in the middle of a ton of traffic I use throttle to move forwards. The next light turns green and I attempt to take off and the rear brake is still locked. I have to use gas to move forward and not be in an unsafe spot, rear ended in the middle of heavy traffic and pull over as quickly as possible. At this point the bike is shaking, errors are all over the screen.