2019/20 no ambient temp sensor - BMW S1000RR Forums: BMW Sportbike Forum
 11Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 24 (permalink) Old 08-11-2019, 04:57 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
Capercat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 58
2019/20 no ambient temp sensor

I haven't even received my bike and already upset it won't be coming with an outside temp sensor.
Can a sensor be retrofitted & coded? comes with cruise control & heated grips, bluetooth etc, but no outside temp, very strange given the tourers with the same 6.5" display have an air temp sensor.
Capercat is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 24 (permalink) Old 08-11-2019, 05:38 AM
Moderator
 
bennymx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Australia
Posts: 5,877
There is a air intake temp sensor on the bike but no display on the dash. They obviously didn't think the RR needed one.
bennymx is online now  
post #3 of 24 (permalink) Old 08-11-2019, 08:13 AM
Lifetime Member
 
BMW_388's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,826
Quote:
Originally Posted by bennymx View Post
There is a air intake temp sensor on the bike but no display on the dash. They obviously didn't think the RR needed one.

This is one thing I really like on the K46 is the temp read out of the IAT.

@bennymx - does the R1250GS have this on the TFT display? I have not spent enough time at the dealer playing with the R1250 to see if it is there. If it is, then I might can turn this on with my engineering software. The bad is it is an undefined parameter and very hard to find if it is there.
bennymx and Capercat like this.

Riding and loving my 2020 K67 with the custom XWORKS ECU
Check out MotoMillion ( forum Vendor section ) for all your needs in ECU work
Check out MotoMillion also has programming for RCK3 / HP power Kit enables now
Programmer for MotoMillion is myself ( BMW_388 )
I personally own the 2014, 2015, 2018, 2020 S1000RR
This makes for checking my ECU work is perfect every time sold by MotoMillion
BMW_388 is online now  
 
post #4 of 24 (permalink) Old 08-11-2019, 08:28 AM
Moderator
 
bennymx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Australia
Posts: 5,877
@BMW_388 Yes all other TFT bikes have the ambient temp in the bottom left hand corner. Seems strange the K46 had it and the K67 has the sensor but chose not to display it.
bennymx is online now  
post #5 of 24 (permalink) Old 08-11-2019, 08:56 AM
Elk
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 3,987
A surprising quirk.

I would miss the readout; checking the temperature can be amusing when riding while rapidly changing altitude, etc.
bennymx likes this.

'15 S1000RR
Elk is offline  
post #6 of 24 (permalink) Old 08-12-2019, 01:05 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Austin, TX USA
Posts: 111
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Elk View Post
A surprising quirk.

I would miss the readout; checking the temperature can be amusing when riding while rapidly changing altitude, etc.
I miss the temp sensor. But given the TPM, I'm more surprised that there is no tire temperature indicator. That would be super useful, and I think most/all tire pressure sensors measure temperature too.
Lugn likes this.
Tom Bernhardt is offline  
post #7 of 24 (permalink) Old 08-12-2019, 01:34 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 349
I am going to friggin crash if someone can't figure out how to get an engine temp guage on the main screen. I cycle back and force 10000 times during a ride looking at engine temp. This is such a massive oversight it is not funny. Give me my engine temp!!!!!!!!!!!!!
PNorris is offline  
post #8 of 24 (permalink) Old 08-12-2019, 04:36 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Capercat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 58
Given the sensor is actually installed, surely the dealer should have the means to code this on.
I'm guessing 3 years from now with its lifecycle facelift model, BMW will eventually display the air temp and increase the power by approx 7hp
A B likes this.
Capercat is offline  
post #9 of 24 (permalink) Old 08-12-2019, 05:11 PM
Elk
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 3,987
Quote:
Originally Posted by PNorris View Post
I am going to friggin crash if someone can't figure out how to get an engine temp guage on the main screen. I cycle back and force 10000 times . . .
I, too, would like the engine temperature (is it oil or coolant? I assume coolant) on the main screen. It is annoying on the earlier models when the Service message comes up over the temperature readout.

But I do not find this troubling as I know at what temperature the bike runs under various conditions and thus know it is fine.

Why do find a need to check so often? Is the temperature varying in ways you do not expect? Does your bike routinely overheat?

'15 S1000RR
Elk is offline  
post #10 of 24 (permalink) Old 08-12-2019, 05:48 PM
Moderator
 
bennymx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Australia
Posts: 5,877
Its a ocd thing. I like to check mine too but wont lose sleep over it.
A B likes this.
bennymx is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the BMW S1000RR Forums: BMW Sportbike Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome