have a track day coming up - worried about the temperture - BMW S1000RR Forums: BMW Sportbike Forum
Go Back   BMW S1000RR Forums: BMW Sportbike Forum > General BMW S1000RR Discussions > Track Time

» Insurance
» Sponsors

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-09-2013, 08:49 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default have a track day coming up - worried about the temperture

Hey everyone.
I have around 10 track days under my belt currently but all have been in nice weather - around 60 degrees and above.

This Friday I have a track day and the highs will be around 52F. In the morning it may be as low as 40F.

I will be bringing 2 bikes to the track. One of my friend's bike is broken so he's borrowing mine.

On 1 bike I have Q2 and the other Supercorsa Diablo SC

Would these tires be ok running at 40F? I have no tire warmers.

Personally, I'm still learning, and I have a fear of leaning. Still haven't gotten my knee down. Should I be concerned about the 40F? Would my Q2's be able to lean enough if somehow by pure luck I finally get to drag a knee for the 1st time or will the tires slide off at that temperture?

Thank you, I know i'm super paranoid but I really don't want to crash,

Thanks
Noam
noamkrief is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-09-2013, 09:01 PM   #2 (permalink)
Sponsor/Admin

Garage

Just plug that stuff into that website and let er rip!!! Ok, that was just wrong I know... sorry about that. Couldn't resist

With having 10 days under your belt and 20-some to go this season, I'd highly recommend warmers. Instead of heat cycling your tires 5-6 times per day, you only heat cycle your tires one time (tires perform better over their life). That first lap (and 2nd and 3rd) you don't have to question if your tires are warm - they are... you can go fast right away! Will help prevent cold tears too.