HP ECU help - Page 2 - BMW S1000RR Forums: BMW Sportbike Forum
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #11 of 31 (permalink) Old 11-29-2012, 01:22 AM
Member
 
Newf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Bangkok, Thailand
Posts: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by senator8 View Post
Thanks a lot Antonn. I think motodex does suter slippers.
A low use stm out of Allerton's bike was for sale not long ago. Might check out if it's still around. The one in the new bike is done anyway so may as well replace with something better.
I will invest in gs911 at your advice.
Has anyone tried the Alpha racing modified OEM clutch? might need to invest in the gs911 tool myself.

Let us know how you get on with the DTC problem, I've bought Sebastian Gimbert BMW Motorrad FSBK bike, it'll be here next month so its always good to read about how different people have solved different problems with the bike...Being in Thailand you end up doing most of diagnostic work yourself.
Newf is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 31 (permalink) Old 10-15-2013, 12:51 AM Thread Starter
Lifetime Member
 
senator8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 288
Garage
Just thought I would update this.
The problem with the T/C did end up being a faulty handlebar switch! Thank you all for the help

I replaced the clutch with new oem kit and although better than my worn out one still a pain to launch. Have just bought a STM to fit before next race meeting and hope it gets me off the line without all the drama of the stock one.

Still having issues with the ECU talking to the calibration kit. I don't want to spend anymore on HP ECU so thinking I will try getting the ECU flashed to get rid of the limiters and terrible drive by wire throttle lag and if further adjustment needed then the Rapidbike unit. At least my tuner can adjust and it has pitlane limiter, engine braking adjustment etc

2013 NSW Pre Modern Formula 1 Champion 2013 (GSXR750T) rrracing82@gmail.com


wet4uracing.com.au Race bike & mechanical prep, fairings and parts - bikeshop.com.au (Protech Motorcycles)Tyres, parts and dyno tuning - stayupright.com.au motorcycle rider training from learners through to track skills - worthingtonmotorcycles.com.au BMW, Honda, MV Augusta, Moto Guzzi and Aprilia

Last edited by senator8; 10-15-2013 at 01:04 AM.
senator8 is offline  
post #13 of 31 (permalink) Old 10-15-2013, 07:21 AM
Senior Member

 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: New York City
Posts: 515
HP Race ECU

What is the engine combination you are running? I have a few HP Race ECU maps for S1000rr, maybe I can help….
George Villar is offline  
post #14 of 31 (permalink) Old 10-15-2013, 07:26 AM
Senior Member

 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: New York City
Posts: 515
Quote:
Originally Posted by antonn View Post
you cant actually turn the dtc off using the calibration sotware, but you can change when it starts to cut in, but that isnt the problem, if the light is staying on then the dtc is de-activated either by the on/off switch on the handlebar or other things may have been unplugged, start with the simple things first, wheel sensors fitted? or fitted correctly, trace wire loom from front sensor to make sure it is plugged in (it plugs in through the frame hole on the l/h side), the rear one is under the seat, try all the small things first if that leads nowhere send me a mesage and i will give you my number (i live in perth) and we will get it sorted
I never said that you cant actually turn the dtc off using the calibration software, I said it can be turned OFF.

FACT: When you remove your ABS function on your S1000rr, you can have the HP Race ECU modified (as I had alpha Racing modify mine) so that when the ABS module and modulator is removed - the DTC will not remain OFF. If you delete your ABS, your Traction Control automatically shuts off.

You require this in addition to the alpha Racing HP Race ECU modification:

DTC Steuergerät, eliminiert ABS Funktion [3451A010A00-01] - 350,00€ : alpha Racing - Performance Parts & Merchandise, Onlineshop

Best regards,
George Villar is offline  
post #15 of 31 (permalink) Old 10-15-2013, 08:08 PM Thread Starter
Lifetime Member
 
senator8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 288
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by George Villar View Post
What is the engine combination you are running? I have a few HP Race ECU maps for S1000rr, maybe I can help….
Thanks for the offer George. The problem I am having is the kit won't communicate with the ecu on my bike. When the dealer hooked it up it said replace the ecu before continuing. As I bought this bike 2nd hand, help any further has been hard. I know it's not the calibration kit as one of the Teams here was kind enough to have a look at it for me and they could not get it to connect either

So I am considering Bren's flash tune to upgrade some of the things I would like and the Rapid bike will be my next step If I need further for racing. At least I can transfer with me to another bike, unlike the HP ECU if I spend on that.

2013 NSW Pre Modern Formula 1 Champion 2013 (GSXR750T) rrracing82@gmail.com


wet4uracing.com.au Race bike & mechanical prep, fairings and parts - bikeshop.com.au (Protech Motorcycles)Tyres, parts and dyno tuning - stayupright.com.au motorcycle rider training from learners through to track skills - worthingtonmotorcycles.com.au BMW, Honda, MV Augusta, Moto Guzzi and Aprilia
senator8 is offline  
post #16 of 31 (permalink) Old 10-16-2013, 04:34 AM
Senior Member

 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: New York City
Posts: 515
Quote:
Originally Posted by senator8 View Post
Thanks for the offer George. The problem I am having is the kit won't communicate with the ecu on my bike. When the dealer hooked it up it said replace the ecu before continuing. As I bought this bike 2nd hand, help any further has been hard. I know it's not the calibration kit as one of the Teams here was kind enough to have a look at it for me and they could not get it to connect either

So I am considering Bren's flash tune to upgrade some of the things I would like and the Rapid bike will be my next step If I need further for racing. At least I can transfer with me to another bike, unlike the HP ECU if I spend on that.
I will make a call to Jens at alpha Racing and see what the solution is. I think they can help. PM me your email.
George Villar is offline  
post #17 of 31 (permalink) Old 10-17-2013, 05:25 AM Thread Starter
Lifetime Member
 
senator8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 288
Garage
Ok. I've got the ECU connecting to the calibration kit. So yay, that's a first.

When I try to send the base works file to the ECU it just keeps saying unsuccessful as soon as it starts.

Any ideas from anyone familiar with the system?

Big thanks again to George, for going out of his way to help for a complete stranger

2013 NSW Pre Modern Formula 1 Champion 2013 (GSXR750T) rrracing82@gmail.com


wet4uracing.com.au Race bike & mechanical prep, fairings and parts - bikeshop.com.au (Protech Motorcycles)Tyres, parts and dyno tuning - stayupright.com.au motorcycle rider training from learners through to track skills - worthingtonmotorcycles.com.au BMW, Honda, MV Augusta, Moto Guzzi and Aprilia
senator8 is offline  
post #18 of 31 (permalink) Old 10-18-2013, 12:27 AM Thread Starter
Lifetime Member
 
senator8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 288
Garage
Maybe a simpler question. Could I have gotten this far as in connected to ECU etc if either the ECU or calibration kit were not code enabled?

2013 NSW Pre Modern Formula 1 Champion 2013 (GSXR750T) rrracing82@gmail.com


wet4uracing.com.au Race bike & mechanical prep, fairings and parts - bikeshop.com.au (Protech Motorcycles)Tyres, parts and dyno tuning - stayupright.com.au motorcycle rider training from learners through to track skills - worthingtonmotorcycles.com.au BMW, Honda, MV Augusta, Moto Guzzi and Aprilia
senator8 is offline  
post #19 of 31 (permalink) Old 10-19-2013, 04:34 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 547
Quote:
Originally Posted by senator8 View Post
Maybe a simpler question. Could I have gotten this far as in connected to ECU etc if either the ECU or calibration kit were not code enabled?
It depends on what the screen says, connect to the ECU and take a screenshot.

While you should post the entire screenshot, the most relevant information is in the lower right hand corner.

You probably also have an older connection cable, which had retreating pins. Take a look at the pins in your connector and see if any are stuck in the upper position, if so, get them freely moving again with a contact cleaner and/or a paperclip to dislodge it.
dagor6 is online now  
post #20 of 31 (permalink) Old 10-20-2013, 03:35 AM Thread Starter
Lifetime Member
 
senator8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 288
Garage
Idle screen shot ign on


Attempt to read ECU. no base file loaded


attempt to load base file



Thank you
checked pins as advised. all seem to be ok

2013 NSW Pre Modern Formula 1 Champion 2013 (GSXR750T) rrracing82@gmail.com


wet4uracing.com.au Race bike & mechanical prep, fairings and parts - bikeshop.com.au (Protech Motorcycles)Tyres, parts and dyno tuning - stayupright.com.au motorcycle rider training from learners through to track skills - worthingtonmotorcycles.com.au BMW, Honda, MV Augusta, Moto Guzzi and Aprilia
senator8 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the BMW S1000RR Forums: BMW Sportbike Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome