Lap Timer - BMW S1000RR Forums: BMW Sportbike Forum
Go Back   BMW S1000RR Forums: BMW Sportbike Forum > General BMW S1000RR Discussions > S1000RR/HP4 Tech and Performance Chat


» Insurance
» Sponsors
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-27-2012, 05:46 PM   #1 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 182
Default Lap Timer

Hi, I have not looked at the manual recently, but I want to know my lap times at the next track day and I don't know how the S1000 supports the process.

If I am supposed to trip the timer each time around? If so, that is pretty rough. I also noted the 2012 has some "best lap" light, which I have not used either.

Does the track usually have some wireless signal that my bike (with an add on part?) would receive and monitor wirelessly? How do you do this?

Thanks

Andy
prev1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-27-2012, 05:50 PM   #2 (permalink)
Sponsor/Admin

 
1000RR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: US/NM
Posts: 7,646
Garage
Default

IR Transmitter and Reciever
__________________
__________________________
SMRI #715, AHRMA #715 WMRRA #112x, USBA #715, AMA #715

Thank you - 2015 Race Sponsors (click below)!!

MRRF-Road Racing Forum**Schuberth Helmets**Held Gloves/Leathers**Riders Discount**Pit Posse**Woodcraft**MOTUL

Motorcycle Racing - Because basketball, baseball, football, and golf only require one ball!
1000RR is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2012, 06:33 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 10
Default

I have one for sale. Changed my mind about using the bike as a track bike. $350 for both. Pm me if you are interested. Just plugs in on the right side of the bike.


Sent from my iPhone using MO Free
fplcman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2012, 06:52 PM   #4 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Godzilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: England
Posts: 1,399
Garage
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1000RR View Post
It says you need an HP dash to use that. Is that right?


You could get something like an AIM SOLO GPS laptimer, doesn't use the BMW laptimer at all though. But also doesn't need a trackside transmitter.
Godzilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2012, 07:02 PM   #5 (permalink)
Sponsor/Admin

 
1000RR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: US/NM
Posts: 7,646
Garage
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Godzilla View Post
It says you need an HP dash to use that. Is that right?


You could get something like an AIM SOLO GPS laptimer, doesn't use the BMW laptimer at all though. But also doesn't need a trackside transmitter.
I'm pretty sure you're correct... at least that's what I've been told and have heard --> Like new BMW Infrared Receiver Lap Timer
__________________
__________________________
SMRI #715, AHRMA #715 WMRRA #112x, USBA #715, AMA #715

Thank you - 2015 Race Sponsors (click below)!!

MRRF-Road Racing Forum**Schuberth Helmets**Held Gloves/Leathers**Riders Discount**Pit Posse**Woodcraft**MOTUL

Motorcycle Racing - Because basketball, baseball, football, and golf only require one ball!
1000RR is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2012, 07:02 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Godzilla View Post
It says you need an HP dash to use that. Is that right?


You could get something like an AIM SOLO GPS laptimer, doesn't use the BMW laptimer at all though. But also doesn't need a trackside transmitter.
Works with my stock bmw dash. Look at the right side where all the wires come out of the frame. It plugs in the black plug.


Sent from my iPhone using MO Free
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByMO Free1346104644.183213.jpg
Views:	250
Size:	7.8 KB
ID:	9794   Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByMO Free1346104742.863456.jpg
Views:	199
Size:	8.2 KB
ID:	9795   Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByMO Free1346104786.089058.jpg
Views:	165
Size:	6.6 KB
ID:	9796  
fplcman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2012, 07:03 PM   #7 (permalink)
Sponsor/Admin

 
1000RR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: US/NM
Posts: 7,646
Garage
Default

Guess we stand corrected
__________________
__________________________
SMRI #715, AHRMA #715 WMRRA #112x, USBA #715, AMA #715

Thank you - 2015 Race Sponsors (click below)!!

MRRF-Road Racing Forum**Schuberth Helmets**Held Gloves/Leathers**Riders Discount**Pit Posse**Woodcraft**MOTUL

Motorcycle Racing - Because basketball, baseball, football, and golf only require one ball!
1000RR is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 08:23 AM   #8 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Jimmyc.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Katy,Texas
Posts: 589
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by prev1 View Post
Hi, I have not looked at the manual recently, but I want to know my lap times at the next track day and I don't know how the S1000 supports the process.

If I am supposed to trip the timer each time around? If so, that is pretty rough. I also noted the 2012 has some "best lap" light, which I have not used either.

Does the track usually have some wireless signal that my bike (with an add on part?) would receive and monitor wirelessly? How do you do this?

Thanks

Andy
This system looks like a bad ass deal for the price
GPS Laptimer for BMW S1000RR Upgrades BMW Laptimer to Automatic GPS Version | eBay
Jimmyc. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 09:48 AM   #9 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Detlman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 308
Garage
Default

I have the factory option on my bike, gona use it this coming weekend. We will also have track timing si it will be interesting to see how the times compare.
Detlman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 10:42 AM   #10 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Jimmyc.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Katy,Texas
Posts: 589
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Detlman View Post
I have the factory option on my bike, gona use it this coming weekend. We will also have track timing si it will be interesting to see how the times compare.
Do you know if the hp4 comes with it too?
Jimmyc. is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:29 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.
© S1000RRforum.com
Motorcycle News, Videos and Reviews
Honda Grom Forum Harley Davidson Forum Honda 600RR Forum Kawasaki Forum Yamaha R6 Forum Yamaha FZ-09 Forum
1199 Panigale Forum Roadglide Forum Honda CBR1000 Forum Vulcan Forum Yamaha R1 Forum Yamaha R3 Forum
Ducati Monster Forum Harley Forums Honda CBR250R Forum ZX10R Forum Star Raider Forum Yamaha Viking Forum
Suzuki GSXR Forum V-Rod Forums Honda Shadow Forum Kawasaki Motorcycle Forum Star Warrior Forum KTM Duke 390 Forum
SV650 Forum BMW S1000RR Forum Honda Fury Forum Kawasaki Versys Forum Drag Racing Forum Ducati 899 Panigale Forum
Suzuki V-Strom BMW K1600 Triumph Forum Victory Forums Sportbikes BMW NineT Forum
Volusia Forum BMW F800 Forum Triumph 675 Forum MV Agusta Forum HD Street Forum Suzuki GW250 Forum
Yamaha Motorcycles Victory Gunner Forum Honda Vultus Forum HD LiveWire Forum Ninja H2 Forum Ducati Scrambler Forum Kawasaki Ninja 250SL Forum