BMW S1000RR Forum banner

Estimated Tire life?

8K views 23 replies 17 participants last post by  flyryder 
#1 ·
I'm pretty new to S1k land so does anyone have an estimate of how many miles your expected to see out of a set of tires? I know mileage may vary. Min, Maxes would help a bunch thanks.

#2 ·
Countless threads on the subject.

And it all depends on the tire used. Touring tire expect 8k miles, track tire I get 1800k sometimes.

Reactions: Colers
#5 ·
Each to their own on " The Twist of the Wrist "

Each to their own on "tires tires tires "

SuperCorsa SP front 1800 miles.. Rear 1100 miles ( my first two sets of tires used on my 15, and never again in 16 so far )
SuperCorsa Street / Track DOT SC1 Front 1100 miles SC1 Rear 900 miles
Michelin EVO Street / Track DOT Front 1200 miles Rear 600 miles

any slick on the rear of my bike last at best 75 miles and that was a SuperCorsa SC2
any slick on the front will get 100 miles out of the goody, then it is just making practice laps until I am tried of looking at it worn on the edges so bad.

your mileage will vary as indicated with a twist of the wrist.

#11 · (Edited)
No idea how many miles you may get out of a particular set of tires. Street tires - your riding style/level - road conditions - air pressure - suspension - all of this will determine tire wear.

Same goes for the track - race tires - again depends - really fast guys can smoke a set of tires in a few sessions - others have gotten many track days out of a set.

When I used to ride on the street - I would get anywhere from 3,000 - 4,000 miles out of a set of tires.

These days at the track I have gotten as little as two days out of my rears and as much as 4 days - fronts usually a little more.

Best thing to do no matter if you are a street rider or track rider - always have a set in your garage/trailer ready to go.

#13 · (Edited)