Mounting/balancing tires at home - BMW S1000RR Forums: BMW Sportbike Forum
Go Back   BMW S1000RR Forums: BMW Sportbike Forum > General BMW S1000RR Discussions > S1000RR/HP4 Suspension Setup, Tires, and Wheels

» Insurance
» Sponsors

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-11-2012, 11:21 AM   #1 (permalink)

Default Mounting/balancing tires at home

Do any of you guys have tire machines to change your tires yourself? I have been changing my own tires now for the last 10 years. I also balance my freshly changed tires.

I'm just curious to know who is doing this and what kind of setup do you have?
DB Cooper is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-11-2012, 11:38 AM   #2 (permalink)

A long board can easily break the bead. Balancing can be done between two chairs on the wheel's own shaft. All kinds of ways to use caveman style tools on the cheap.
dattaway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2012, 11:51 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lifetime Member

Garage
Send a message via Skype™ to Karlb

No mar classic (bought before there was a classic back in 2004 or 2005) Marc Parnes Balancer.
Karlb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2012, 12:20 PM   #4 (permalink)

NoMar with trailer hitch mount so I can haul it to the track if needed.
Or take it to a buddy's home to change his tires. Takes ZERO space in the garage.
#2 at my dealer, and #1 Acid Green in WA St.
On the street - 2/5/10.

Last edited by Rainman; 02-11-2012 at 12:55 PM.
Rainman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2012, 12:50 PM   #5 (permalink)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Karlb View Post
No mar classic (bought before there was a classic back in 2004 or 2005) Marc Parnes Balancer.