kill switch for headlight and tail lights? - BMW S1000RR Forums: BMW Sportbike Forum
 1Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 10-28-2012, 08:18 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Ds1000rr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 28
kill switch for headlight and tail lights?

Is there a way you can wire a kill switch in to kill the headlights and tail lights while the bike is running?
Ds1000rr is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 10-28-2012, 09:06 PM
Senior Member
 
Rainman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Bothell, WA USA
Posts: 1,451
The headlights are fused in the rear of the bike, so I'm sure you can put a switch somewhere.

The tail light, turnsignal, and "parking lights" are not. They are controlled or at least monitored by the ECU - they're CANBUS devices. I don't think you can control them with just a simple switch. You'd mess up their signal to the ECU.

What are you thinking? Track days? Or sneaking home after staying out too late? I'm guessing running from the cops is what you are looking for. Bad idea if so.

For track junkies here is the cure.

Pull the fuses for the headlights. That's easy.

For the taillight/stoplight there is a connector right under the rear cross-member of the tail. Crappy location, but not that hard to disconnect once you know how it works.

Rear turnsignals also have a connector in the tail that lead down and out the right. Unplug it or even remove the entire assembly with the three screws. Also easy.

Front turnsignals take some work to remove, and even worse are the parking lights. Just tape 'em up.

------------------------------------------------
#2 at my dealer, and #1 Acid Green in WA St.
On the street - 2/5/10.

Last edited by Rainman; 10-28-2012 at 09:10 PM.
Rainman is offline  
post #3 of 13 (permalink) Old 10-29-2012, 01:17 AM
Senior Member
 
Jebac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,203
Garage
We've got a runner! Lol my buddy has the same on his r1, kills the front and rear individually or simultaneously. Pretty cool!
CYCLE_MONKEY likes this.

EX: 2008 GSXR 600 (17k), 2013 S1000RR(13k)
Current: Racing Red 2015 S1000RR Premium/DDC/HP FORGED WHEELS/ALARM ~5K
GB Racing Case Savers - woodcraft Frame Sliders - Motivation axle sliders - Graves Fender Eliminator - TechSpec Snakeskin - SharkSkinz race plastics - ohlins steering damper
Jebac is online now  
 
post #4 of 13 (permalink) Old 10-29-2012, 01:41 AM
Senior Member
 
Arrie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 296
Garage
I will be visiting my dealer soon to ask them to remove the fault checking on the ECU for the lights. So that if I fit the race fairings for tracdays then I will not be getting the error codes.

I will tel them I will put their brand name on the bike if they do it for me...
Arrie is offline  
post #5 of 13 (permalink) Old 10-29-2012, 04:57 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: norfolk england
Posts: 532
Just asked my dealer to do it whilst it was having it's first service.I have just removed the lights-guess what?
Still shows the fault light!
Probably why Alpha Racing sell the plug blanks.
gixerconvert is offline  
post #6 of 13 (permalink) Old 10-30-2012, 01:39 AM
Senior Member
 
Arrie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 296
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by gixerconvert View Post
Just asked my dealer to do it whilst it was having it's first service.I have just removed the lights-guess what?
Still shows the fault light!
Probably why Alpha Racing sell the plug blanks.
As far as I know, they would be able to do it for you. But they don't like doing it because of the warinty. Are you sure they DID deactivate it? I know it sound funny, but sometimes the dealers them selfs don't know how to deactivate things on the ECU's that they don't normaly do.
Arrie is offline  
post #7 of 13 (permalink) Old 11-06-2012, 03:21 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Ds1000rr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 28
Nobody sells a kit for doing this?
How to do the wiring for the switch and the fuses?
Ds1000rr is offline  
post #8 of 13 (permalink) Old 04-26-2017, 06:16 PM
Member
 
Eric Boston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 36
Did anyone come up with a good solution for this? I would like to be able to shut my headlights off while in motion and not have to worry about pulling a fuse or unplugging them.

-------------------------
I always obey the speed limit sometimes!

Toys In The Sandbox:
2016 BMWrr (awaiting mods)
2016 Polaris Slingshot: Forged Alpha Motor 400hp
2015 AR 240 Jet Boat - Insane 3500watt Stereo.
2002 CRF450
Eric Boston is offline  
post #9 of 13 (permalink) Old 04-26-2017, 06:28 PM
Senior Member
 
smash adams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 364
I have a switch for my HID headlights. For parking light, brake, signals, just disable the fault light in the options
smash adams is online now  
post #10 of 13 (permalink) Old 04-26-2017, 06:33 PM
Senior Member
 
CYCLE_MONKEY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Broomfield, CO, USA
Posts: 1,845
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ds1000rr View Post
Nobody sells a kit for doing this?
So you can run from the cops easier?

2015 Motorrad S1000RR with the DDC and "Forgies"
------------------------------------------------------------
"Hangin's too good for 'im.....BURNIN'S too good for 'im.......he should be torn into itty-bitty pieces and BURIED ALIVE!"
CYCLE_MONKEY is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the BMW S1000RR Forums: BMW Sportbike Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome