BMW S1000RR Forum banner

Hello from Ohio

2K views 11 replies 8 participants last post by  D.Clocktower 
#1 · (Edited)
I am not purchasing a new bike until next season (I hope). I have been looking at all kinds of bikes. Some of the bikes I have been considering are a Super Duke, an MV Brutale, Gixxer 750, Speed Triple, Buell 1125R, even a Streetfighter for about 30 seconds before I sat on one and felt my boys mashed into the tank, or a Duc 848.

I have been riding a GSX600F (Katana) for several years. You may notice the absence any liter bikes on the list. It's not because I am intimidated by the power. I just have always considered them a waste on the street and more than I need or want for the track.

The S1000RR is the first liter bike I've taken seriously. I assumed it would be a typical astronomically overpriced European machine. Although I was impressed by the degree with which BMW decided to take it straight to the Japanese. So I have been watching the bike with mild interest. I was shocked to read in Sport Rider that BMW planned to price within $1000 of the Japanese liter bikes, and more shocked to see the American list price. This is far too much bike at a real world price for me to not take a close look.

So I am here to learn what I can about this thing, and daydream about maybe owning the most advanced superbike in the world next year. I certainly wouldn't complain if they offered a 750cc option.

See less See more
#2 ·
I was exactly the same. I really never saw the need to ever have any more than 600cc's on the street. Until I rode a K1300S and other big bikes. It is a wonderful thing. Power down low where you need it right away. You don't have to have it spun up so high. Not as twitchy with mid corner throttle inputs and such a smooth power delivery with all the torque you could want. A litre is perfect for the street.

#7 ·
Hey Ohio rider!