Another S1000rr in San Diego - BMW S1000RR Forums: BMW Sportbike Forum
Go Back   BMW S1000RR Forums: BMW Sportbike Forum > BMW S1000RR Main > New Member Introductions

» Insurance
» Sponsors

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-03-2012, 01:42 AM   #1 (permalink)

Default Another S1000rr in San Diego

Hi All,

Another newbie from San Diego. I just picked up a 2012 BMW S1000rr FireBlue.

I'm very new to San Diego and would love to find a few others to go riding with. I don't know the roads, so it's a bit tough trying to find my way to the twisty roads.

I was going to buy a new bike, but I found one here in San Diego with a whopping 94 miles on it, listed on eBay. When I saw it was in San Diego, I told the seller to hold it and bought it the next morning. It already had the conrod. fix and the price was utterly insane, I mean insane. It was one of those situations of being in the right place and the right time.

It's loaded with ABS/TCS/quick-shift/Grip Warmers and not a scratch, not a nick. Not a ding. It's my very first bike and I can't wait to take it on the freeway. I want to see what this baby can do. I heard it can go 200 mph!! Is HJC a good helmet brand? Do I really need to wear a leather jacket?

Just kidding, for all those who just hit the reply and were about to call me...yeah...we'll skip that. I've been riding for 22-years, or since I was 13. You can do the math.

Some of the Bikes I've owned, not in order, save for the first bike (At one point I owned a couple at the same time)

1)Honda VTR 250 used.
2)Yamaha '88 FZ 600 used.
3)Suzuki RF 600 new. Forget the magazines, it was a superb bike
4)Honda Nighthawk 750, Honda advertised it's 4.5 sec. 0-60 time. Funny ad.
5)Suzuki GS 500e new before Suzuki ruined it with fairings. Great bike!
6)2001 GSXR-1000 new, everyone hated the tail section.
7)2003 GSXR-1000 new, I began to hate the tail section.
8) Yamaha Vino 50 c.c. New Scooter. 40 mph never felt slower.