BIKE is dead - BMW S1000RR Forums: BMW Sportbike Forum
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 11-16-2012, 04:36 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 37
BIKE is dead

so is very unfortunate and I have no time to send it to the dealer (yet) so I post the question here.

Last sunday I was on the track when the bike suddently died. It wont start but the instrument cluster does not report any failure. But the handlebar switch doesn't respond. The bike does not start or change the mode (rain,sport,race,slick).
The next day the bike started normally. (monday)
from tuestay until today the bike start the fuel pump and the instrument checks in, but it doesn't start. So yesterday with some spare time (after the dealer was closed) I removed the tank following the cable from the handlebar switch and I found a missing piece. Is that normal? Anyone here have the same problem? How could I lose that piece?
I'll attach the image below the tank.


if you can't see it here is the link to my G+ thread
https://plus.google.com/111374720718...ts/GrKwMLQEUzX
BTW thanks
ElCulebras is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 11-16-2012, 04:47 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 279
check handlebar switches it's a known problem.that start/non start thing happened to me last june.i was going to start disassemble things not knowing from where to begin but first i decided to post my problem on this forum and someone guided me to the switches and problem solved straightaway
brinu is online now  
post #3 of 13 (permalink) Old 11-16-2012, 04:54 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by brinu View Post
check handlebar switches it's a known problem.that start/non start thing happened to me last june.i was going to start disassemble things not knowing from where to begin but first i decided to post my problem on this forum and someone guided me to the switches and problem solved straightaway
thanks

did you have to replace or just clean the switches?
ElCulebras is offline  
post #4 of 13 (permalink) Old 11-16-2012, 05:04 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 279
replaced by the dealer under warranty
brinu is online now  
post #5 of 13 (permalink) Old 11-16-2012, 07:00 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 19
I had the same problem. Dealer pulled the switch and replaced under warranty
MDBR is offline  
post #6 of 13 (permalink) Old 11-17-2012, 05:16 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 1,251
That is for the "charcoal canister". Usually only on US bikes. Pretty sure it's no on Canadian, South American, Mex, or Euro bikes. It plugs into a valve that opens when the bike reaches operating temperature. The valve then lets the charcoal canister "breath" and sucks any fumes from the venting fuel tank into the intake tract.

Stupid California adopted this concept about 10 years ago and all other states adopted the concept as well (not sure if it is a Federal thing or state). All US bikes now incorporate them (street bikes).

Would not cause your bike to not start.

More than likely it is the Run/Stop switch acting up on you. They usually act up and not work when hot (sun shining on it directly) and work once they cool down (inside, or the next morning).
viperclaw is offline  
post #7 of 13 (permalink) Old 11-17-2012, 06:34 PM
Senior Member
 
bens1000rr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 423
^^ this is why i love the forum
bens1000rr is offline  
post #8 of 13 (permalink) Old 11-18-2012, 12:06 PM
Senior Member
 
R1HOOLIGAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Sebring, Florida
Posts: 428
I've had to have ALL my handlebar switches replaced under warranty

Current Garage Inhabitants:

2010 S1000RR - White/Blue/Red
2013 Kawasaki ZX-10R
2006 Suzuki GSXR 1000
2008 Suzuki M-109R LE
2008 Kawasaki Teryx
R1HOOLIGAN is offline  
post #9 of 13 (permalink) Old 11-18-2012, 02:03 PM
Senior Member
 
QuikSanD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 281
because of this issue I tend not to use my kill switch and just turn the key directly to off... is this detrimental / different from the kill switch in any way?

2013 s1k, Austin Racing GP3, PC V, fries and a drink
QuikSanD is offline  
post #10 of 13 (permalink) Old 11-18-2012, 04:32 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 279
to quicksand.even i always use my ignition key to turn off my motor.i never use the kill switch to turn off the engine but still my switch had to be replaced
brinu is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the BMW S1000RR Forums: BMW Sportbike Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome