S1000RR - My journey flash tuning the stock DME - BMW S1000RR Forums: BMW Sportbike Forum
Go Back   BMW S1000RR Forums: BMW Sportbike Forum > General BMW S1000RR Discussions > Exhaust and Fuel Delivery


» Insurance
» Sponsors
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-10-2012, 09:40 PM   #1 (permalink)
Vendor
 
bren RR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 479
Default S1000RR - My journey flash tuning the stock DME

Hi All,

I'm relatively new to the forum and wanted to share a project we are working on over here on my personal 2010 S1000RR. I was never happy with the drive-ability of these bikes, very off/on and tip in throttle was never desire-able. I am personally not a fan of "interceptors" aka Power Commanders because they don't adjust torque limiters, ignition retard/advance, and force the bike into closed loop fueling. While I've tuned a few and they "work" there is so much more left on the table.

In my personal business, we re-map and tune lots of German vehicles and Japanese sports cars. While working on our in-house BMW M3, and become frustrated with my S1000RR - we realize there are alot of similarities in the DME the S1000RR uses with some of our Bosch Audi tuning - which is the Bosch BMSK computer available in our bikes. After some research we learned our in-house tool that we use to program alot of European vehicles is actually compatible with reading and writing to our ECU.

After removing the ECU and opening the lid / examining on the bench we were able to get a full hex dump of the stock tune. From there and over the last few weeks - we identified many maps in the hex editor and starting creating the architecture of our wonderful bikes. Before making any changes we put our bike on the dyno to get two baselines, one stock and one with a full Akrapovic system. AFR is target based so the difference between both AFR curves is nearly identical with and without exhaust.

So far the changes we have tested and proven to work well:

-Remap part/idle/tip in/full throttle targets. Most important the sharp lean tip in at low rpms.
-Remap part and full throttle timing for premium fuel (93).
-Removing 1-2-3rd gear ignition retard (in some cases up to 3degrees advance).
-Remap Torque Targeting tables to supply a full 100% open throttle operation at high loads, the factory throttle was not fully open.
-Remap of all ignition retarded throttle tables rain through slick for smoother operation and drive-ability. Most important to me was the off idle throttle response. We can custom tailor all these tables and almost fully satisfied with the drastic difference in feel.
-Cat temp threshold (for bikes without catalytic converters this removes the rich fuel compensation to preserve the converters life)
-Adjusted the rev limiter 100rpm.


We are just about ready to head back to the dyno for more testing. Rain has been difficult lately in Massachusetts. We plan on testing multiple air fuel mixtures with an EGT probe to find the best repeatable power. Options for race gas with be easy to map from there. Based on our current testing alot of power in this bike is based off ignition timing and torque targeting - not just fuel tuning. It appears the OEM timing map is made for less then Premium fuel.

Will keep the thread updated with our progress. Below is some of the data before:





Dyno: Stock baseline with AFR


Last edited by bren RR; 10-11-2012 at 02:37 PM.
bren RR is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-10-2012, 11:27 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Moderator

 
Rush66crp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Spanaway, Wa
Posts: 1,534
Default

Interesting. Keep us updated.
Rush66crp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 12:08 AM   #3 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: The Valley, CA
Posts: 1,442
Send a message via AIM to G-force
Default

OMG, finally someone that has been able to crack these ecu's stateside!

would you be willing to disclose what hardware/software you use to flash it?

reason i ask is i would LOVE to be able to use my stock ecu on a turbo build instead of going full standalone. i would be willing to pay for any help you can provide.
__________________
'13 grey S1000RR
G-force is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 12:12 AM   #4 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Zmydust's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Brandon,MS
Posts: 162
Default

+1 on the off idle response
Zmydust is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 01:26 AM   #5 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: NewDelhi,India
Posts: 371
Default

Too cool......thanks for sharing with us...
__________________
S1000RR 2011 Motor Sports
Ducati 848 Evo [Sold]
Yamaha R1 08 [Sold]
Yamaha R1 01 [Sold]
yuvraj8511 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 02:02 AM   #6 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
luker669's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Lubbock TX
Posts: 1,523
Default

Very interested


Sent from my iPhone using Motorcycle
luker669 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 09:42 AM   #7 (permalink)
Vendor
 
bren RR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 479
Default

The procedure of doing them on the bench is not difficult. The ECU is about a 2 minute job to remove. The lid takes about an hour. And setup is about 10 minutes.

We are also working on a "OBD2" style connector for us to be able to hook up to the round connector in the tail to "flash" these bikes with nothing else removed but the tail lid. It's very expensive on our end but quite possible a solution into the future.
bren RR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 09:48 AM   #8 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: The Valley, CA
Posts: 1,442
Send a message via AIM to G-force
Default

what hardware/software are you guys using and where can i get/buy it?
__________________
'13 grey S1000RR
G-force is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 09:56 AM   #9 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
JBuchanan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Sigonella, Italy
Posts: 446
Default

Can you post a dyno overlay of before and after?


Sent from my iPad using Motorcycle
__________________
Jay Buchanan
JBuchanan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 02:32 PM   #10 (permalink)
Vendor
 
bren RR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 479
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by russianvr4 View Post
what hardware/software are you guys using and where can i get/buy it?
We use our own in-house tools - not available to the public. Initial cost is upwards of 25k.

Last edited by bren RR; 10-11-2012 at 02:34 PM.
bren RR is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:43 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.
© S1000RRforum.com
Motorcycle News, Videos and Reviews
Honda Grom Forum Harley Davidson Forum Honda 600RR Kawasaki Forum Yamaha R6 Forum Yamaha FZ-09 Forum
1199 Panigale Forum Roadglide Forum Honda CBR1000 Forum Vulcan Forum Yamaha R1 Forum Yamaha R3 Forum
Ducati Monster Forum Harley Forums Honda CBR250R Forum ZX10R Forum Star Raider Forum Yamaha Viking Forum
Suzuki GSXR Forum V-Rod Forums Honda Shadow Forum Kawasaki Motorcycle Forum Star Warrior Forum KTM Duke 390 Forum
SV650 Forum BMW S1000RR Forum Honda Fury Forum Kawasaki Versys Forum Drag Racing Forum Ducati 899 Panigale Forum
Suzuki V-Strom BMW K1600 Triumph Forum Victory Forums Sportbikes BMW NineT Forum
Volusia Forum BMW F800 Forum Triumph 675 Forum MV Agusta Forum HD Street Forum Suzuki GW250 Forum
Yamaha Motorcycles Victory Gunner Forum Honda Vultus Forum HD LiveWire Forum Ninja H2 Forum Ducati Scrambler Forum