PC V wrong shift pattern - BMW S1000RR Forums: BMW Sportbike Forum
Go Back   BMW S1000RR Forums: BMW Sportbike Forum > General BMW S1000RR Discussions > Exhaust and Fuel Delivery


» Insurance
» Sponsors
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-14-2012, 05:48 PM   #1 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
GNice4U's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: NC
Posts: 539
Default PC V wrong shift pattern

So my dealer installed my AR exhaust and PC V. Well, I went to have my bike dyno'ed today and the dyno is reading the wrong shift pattern. In neutral the dyno reads 6th gear and as they moved through the gears it read 5th, 4th, etc.

Did my dealer mess up the installation of the PC V? Will this require them to go under the tank to get it right?
__________________
'12 Red & White S1000RR
GNice4U is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-14-2012, 05:55 PM   #2 (permalink)
Sponsor/Admin

 
1000RR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: US/NM
Posts: 7,625
Garage
Default

Installing the PCV shouldn't mess w/your gear position sensor. You're talking about the one on the dash? If you're talking about the actual Dyno... how does it know what gear you're in (or for that matter, care?)?

Did you have your dealer set up your PCV so that it would pull data from your speed sensor in order to have a custom map for each gear?
__________________
__________________________
#1 Plate/Champion - 2013 SMRI

SMRI #1, WMRRA #112x, USBA #715, AMA #715

HUGE Thanks to my Race Sponsors!!

Riders Discount**PMtec, Inc**Schuberth Helmets**DUNLOP**DrippinWet**Brentwood Barber Shop**MOTUL**MRRF-Road Racing Forum**Leatt Neck Protection**Knecht Automotive

Motorcycle Racing - Because basketball, baseball, football, and golf only require one ball!
1000RR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2012, 06:20 PM   #3 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
GNice4U's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: NC
Posts: 539
Default

Ah. I should have been more clear...it was the gear indicator on the dyno. The bike appears 100% fine, but the guys at the shop thought something was amiss with the PC V installation to make it (the dyno) do that.

The shop does a lot of dyno stuff but I was the first S1000RR...maybe they didn't have something set up right.
__________________
'12 Red & White S1000RR

Last edited by GNice4U; 09-14-2012 at 06:22 PM.
GNice4U is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2012, 06:38 PM   #4 (permalink)
Sponsor/Admin

 
1000RR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: US/NM
Posts: 7,625
Garage
Default

I wouldn't worry about it... sounds like they had something weird going on w/their dyno. You're just running a single map, correct? Not a different map for each gear?

Usually they're just hooking to a plug wire for RPMs and then they hook a USB to your PCV and then they have the exhaust sniffer.

Is everything working OK?
__________________
__________________________
#1 Plate/Champion - 2013 SMRI

SMRI #1, WMRRA #112x, USBA #715, AMA #715

HUGE Thanks to my Race Sponsors!!

Riders Discount**PMtec, Inc**Schuberth Helmets**DUNLOP**DrippinWet**Brentwood Barber Shop**MOTUL**MRRF-Road Racing Forum**Leatt Neck Protection**Knecht Automotive

Motorcycle Racing - Because basketball, baseball, football, and golf only require one ball!
1000RR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2012, 06:42 PM   #5 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
GNice4U's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: NC
Posts: 539
Default

Everything appears outstanding...and yes, just one map. I wasn't there just for a dyno run, I was there to get a custom map created. The before and after was pretty amazing. The curve is much, much smoother and the bike is running great. I gave her a bit of the business on the way home and she behaved quite nicely.

BTW, thanks to your DYI, I grabbed some rubber stoppers to block the PAIR valve and got that bit done before I took it in. Wouldn't have known exactly how to do with it without your post so kudos to you my friend!
__________________
'12 Red & White S1000RR
GNice4U is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2012, 06:44 PM   #6 (permalink)
Sponsor/Admin

 
1000RR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: US/NM
Posts: 7,625
Garage
Default

No sweat... sounds like you're sorted out then. Post up your dyno printout if they gave you one. What mods do you have? Did they do a before run prior to any mods?
__________________
__________________________
#1 Plate/Champion - 2013 SMRI

SMRI #1, WMRRA #112x, USBA #715, AMA #715

HUGE Thanks to my Race Sponsors!!

Riders Discount**PMtec, Inc**Schuberth Helmets**DUNLOP**DrippinWet**Brentwood Barber Shop**MOTUL**MRRF-Road Racing Forum**Leatt Neck Protection**Knecht Automotive

Motorcycle Racing - Because basketball, baseball, football, and golf only require one ball!
1000RR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2012, 06:56 PM   #7 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
GNice4U's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: NC
Posts: 539
Default

Just posted some info about the dyno results in this thread:
2012 w/ Austing Racing Full GP3 Exhaust
__________________
'12 Red & White S1000RR
GNice4U is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2012, 11:59 AM   #8 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
pekespeed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Louisiana, USA
Posts: 225
Garage
Default

Just noticed my does the same thing when my laptop is hooked up
any answers? Dynojet said it will not effect anything unless running map for every gear.
pekespeed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2012, 12:29 PM   #9 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
pekespeed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Louisiana, USA
Posts: 225
Garage
Default

If you have a 2012 model:

Can someone hook laptop up with bike on stand go through gears and see if there's read's wrong gear postion, please..

Last edited by pekespeed; 11-26-2012 at 01:17 PM.
pekespeed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2012, 04:07 PM   #10 (permalink)
Neo
Senior Member
 
Neo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 860
Default

Dynojet have sent the units calibrated incorrectly.
We have made them aware of this and future units will be calibrated correctly.

Simple fix if you need to fix it for individual gear mapping.

Re calibrate it using the tools at the top of the Pcv page. Only possible on a dyno.
__________________
www.austinracing.info
Neo is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:08 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.
© S1000RRforum.com
Motorcycle News, Videos and Reviews
Honda Grom Forum Harley Davidson Forum Honda 600RR Kawasaki Forum Yamaha R6 Forum Yamaha FZ-09 Forum
1199 Panigale Forum Roadglide Forum Honda CBR1000 Forum Vulcan Forum Yamaha R1 Forum Yamaha R3 Forum
Ducati Monster Forum Harley Forums Honda CBR250R Forum ZX10R Forum Star Raider Forum Yamaha Viking Forum
Suzuki GSXR Forum V-Rod Forums Honda Shadow Forum Kawasaki Motorcycle Forum Star Warrior Forum KTM Duke 390 Forum
SV650 Forum BMW S1000RR Forum Honda Fury Forum Kawasaki Versys Forum Drag Racing Forum Ducati 899 Panigale Forum
Suzuki V-Strom BMW K1600 Triumph Forum Victory Forums Sportbikes BMW NineT Forum
Volusia Forum BMW F800 Forum Triumph 675 Forum MV Agusta Forum HD Street Forum Suzuki GW250 Forum
Yamaha Motorcycles Victory Gunner Forum Honda Vultus Forum HD LiveWire Forum