BMW S1000RR Forum banner

Is it that easy?

10K views 51 replies 15 participants last post by  bennymx 
#1 ·
Hi All, I ordered a Power Commander and saw the vid on installation. Seems straight forward enough, but I'm just wondering if it's really a bolt it in and go type of a deal, or do I need to find maps, etc, etc? I've never used one before and obviously know next to nothing!

Thanks in advance for your time and help.

Andy

#2 ·
Andy, it really is. The biggest pain is finding the TPS wire in the harness under the gas tank. You can do the install without taking the tank off, but it's so much easier if you remove it. Depending on where you buy the PC, they may have already loaded a map for you, or you can get one from the PC website that will be close enough to get you started. Just post up here if you run into any issues.

#3 ·
Thanks for the quick response! I ordered it from Amazon and it's being shipped from Motomummy. It's a Power Commander 5. Would you suggest I find maps before installing it or just plug it straight in, so to speak?

Reactions: blachow
#11 ·
For the street I'd say there is no need for a piggey back system or the rck3 system.

The power unlock code isn't bad. But also any tune you purchase wasnt developed on your bike is not going to be ideal, it might be pretty damn close,but won't be perfect. Each bike is going to have slight manufacturing discrepanies which will affect hp and performance. Also the rck3 only allows tuning to a certain amount and then only in certain rpm blocks.

With the PCV you can find tune down to 500rpms, and load multiple maps for the different types of gas.

There are significant dips between 7-8k and 11-12k rpms that you are able to tune out with a piggey back system.

#12 ·