Fault VDS - BMW S1000RR Forums: BMW Sportbike Forum
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 17 (permalink) Old 12-30-2011, 08:36 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Ft Benning, Georgia
Posts: 101
Garage
Fault VDS

I just installed a PC V loaded the map took it out to ride it and the bike shut off giving me a VDS ! Code. Anyone have an idea what this is.
Damon is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 17 (permalink) Old 12-30-2011, 09:02 PM
Sponsor/Admin

 
1000RR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: US/NM
Posts: 7,720
Garage
Drop Sensor... the bike thinks your bike has been on its side...

Cycle the on/off switch, then try and start it. OR pull the seat and see if the drop sensor has snuck out its perch and is laying sideways.

__________________________
SMRI #715, AHRMA #715 WMRRA #112x, USBA #715, AMA #715

Thank you - 2015 Race Sponsors (click below)!!

MRRF-Road Racing Forum**Schuberth Helmets**Held Gloves/Leathers**Riders Discount**Pit Posse**Woodcraft**MOTUL

Motorcycle Racing - Because basketball, baseball, football, and golf only require one ball!
1000RR is offline  
post #3 of 17 (permalink) Old 12-30-2011, 09:23 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Ft Benning, Georgia
Posts: 101
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1000RR View Post
Drop Sensor... the bike thinks your bike has been on its side...

Cycle the on/off switch, then try and start it. OR pull the seat and see if the drop sensor has snuck out its perch and is laying sideways.

Yes I tried cycling it off and on and it keeps coming up but I will check the perch in the am and report back. BTW thanks for the info
Damon is offline  
post #4 of 17 (permalink) Old 12-30-2011, 09:25 PM
Sponsor/Admin

 
1000RR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: US/NM
Posts: 7,720
Garage
If that doesn't work, could be a faulty Drop Sensor... dealer would have to check that out.

__________________________
SMRI #715, AHRMA #715 WMRRA #112x, USBA #715, AMA #715

Thank you - 2015 Race Sponsors (click below)!!

MRRF-Road Racing Forum**Schuberth Helmets**Held Gloves/Leathers**Riders Discount**Pit Posse**Woodcraft**MOTUL

Motorcycle Racing - Because basketball, baseball, football, and golf only require one ball!
1000RR is offline  
post #5 of 17 (permalink) Old 12-31-2011, 08:11 AM
Lifetime Member
 
skapan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Toronto Canada
Posts: 2,366
You could also try kill switch off then on again, but this is Vertical Drop Sensor warning, so it's either unplugged or not vertical I would guess.

Last edited by skapan; 12-31-2011 at 08:15 AM.
skapan is offline  
post #6 of 17 (permalink) Old 12-31-2011, 10:08 AM
Sponsor/Admin

 
1000RR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: US/NM
Posts: 7,720
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1000RR View Post
If that doesn't work, could be a faulty Drop Sensor... dealer would have to check that out.
OR... you might be able to take a amp meter and check the sensor on your own... my guess is it's an open or closed circuit and tipping it one way or the other will either close it or open it.

Not 100% that'll work, but worth a shot.

__________________________
SMRI #715, AHRMA #715 WMRRA #112x, USBA #715, AMA #715

Thank you - 2015 Race Sponsors (click below)!!

MRRF-Road Racing Forum**Schuberth Helmets**Held Gloves/Leathers**Riders Discount**Pit Posse**Woodcraft**MOTUL

Motorcycle Racing - Because basketball, baseball, football, and golf only require one ball!
1000RR is offline  
post #7 of 17 (permalink) Old 12-31-2011, 02:52 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Ft Benning, Georgia
Posts: 101
Garage
It was out of the bracket. I must have knocked it out putting the tank back. I put it back in and it runs like a champ. Thanks for the help.
Damon is offline  
post #8 of 17 (permalink) Old 11-19-2012, 08:58 PM
Site Sponsor

 
verrucktaxe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 592
Garage
Send a message via Skype™ to verrucktaxe
I just tried to start my '10 s1k yesterday, it turned over, then stopped, and showed that VDS! error. i checked the sensor, and it was still in the proper cradle. I thought maybe the battery was low or something, charged it, still wouldn't start. I see someone else on the forum had this problem with a blown fuse. The #2 4A Cutoff Relay, diagnosis plug fuse. I checked, and all fuses are fine though. only electrical thing i've done was installed a V1, and that was right after i got the bike, so that's not a recent change.

I'm trying to avoid waiting here for the road side service to pick it up and take it 5 miles to the dealer for them to check it out if i can fix myself. i just hate to spend $140 for a new sensor for a warrantied bike, especially if that's not it.

anyone have one of those caps that came from the factory that shorted out that sensor plug they might sell so i could try to maybe confirm it's the sensor or find anything else i might try? i notice when i unplug the sensor from the plug, the time and range show up on the dash too, plug it back in, and just VDS!.

any other ideas??

Axe, author of "No Limits - No Regrets"
record breaker for fastest motorcycle ride across America
www.NoLimits-NoRegrets.com
verrucktaxe is offline  
post #9 of 17 (permalink) Old 11-20-2012, 11:11 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 1,251
Sensor is "retrofitted" to the bike's ECU. Or it should be. Shouldn't run without it plugged in (that is if you put the original cap on the plug).
viperclaw is offline  
post #10 of 17 (permalink) Old 11-20-2012, 08:40 PM
Site Sponsor

 
verrucktaxe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 592
Garage
Send a message via Skype™ to verrucktaxe
#(%&*, that's right. guess i'll be calling roadside service Monday. If i knew it was just the sensor for sure, i'd probably just go bite it and buy one so i can take it to Austin Friday... grr...

Axe, author of "No Limits - No Regrets"
record breaker for fastest motorcycle ride across America
www.NoLimits-NoRegrets.com
verrucktaxe is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the BMW S1000RR Forums: BMW Sportbike Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome