The first 200 miles! - BMW S1000RR Forums: BMW Sportbike Forum
Go Back   BMW S1000RR Forums: BMW Sportbike Forum > General BMW S1000RR Discussions > BMW HP4 General Discussion

» Insurance
» Sponsors

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-10-2012, 12:15 AM   #1 (permalink)
Hex

Default The first 200 miles!

I am really amazed. First off, I have been riding hyper-bikes since 1975 and this motorcycle is unlike anything I have ever, I mean ever, ridden. I am actually having a hard time knowing where to start. I'll start with the suspension. It is very close to indescribable. It is seemless, supremely capable and spot on an incredible amount of the time. And, let me add, I have not even begun to fiddle with it. The bike turns so well that it feels like it is channeling you into the perfect line. It is a revelation. The phenomenal adaptability and supreme forgivness make it unlike any other sport bike out there. The bike is rock solid in a straight line and confidence inspiring, and yet it will go where ever you want it to effortlessly. Wattsy rules said it well when he said he started looking for bumps and imperfections in the road to see what the bike could do. Initially, do to habit, I didin't do this but after about 100 miles I started too and the bikes' ability to remove road imperfections is astonishing. Even mid corner chassis destabilizers are no match for the HP 4. It is really other worldly. This motorcycle is truly ground breaking and the future is here now. This is a very large leap forward in the sense that this motorcycle makes its rider a better rider. Period. Yeah other bikes these days do this as well but not on this level. I don't think it will matter whether you are a pro or a novice as this bike supports the rider's efforts like no other. I was talking to a BMW factory rider at the IMS show this week and he told me that this is the case but I was convinced more by my time in the saddle, rather than by his words, that what he said is true. Everyon