BMW S1000RR Forum banner

For the older guys with sportbike

8K views 47 replies 41 participants last post by  Saltan 
#1 ·
Whats your age and till what age would you keep riding sportbikes ,
Ill be 43 in January and could not see my self riding anything else other than a sportbike I also like to stay active doing trackdays over (10) a year as well as some competitive motorcycle racing here in Texas with Cmra :D

#4 ·
I'm "only" 34 and I too want to ride sportbikes for as long as possible. I've been working out regularly though for the past 20 years. Been a strict vegetarian since 1995. So people often mistake me for being 8-10 years younger. But damn, I do notice how my body has changed. I need more warm up time in the gym before I lift anything heavy, and I need way more time to recover from injuries. Time stops for no one......so have fun while you can! :D

Oh, and to the youngins.....respect your elders, you too will be old one day;)

#38 ·
Who you tellin man... I noticed the increased time required for a good warm up before lifting hard. 33 years young here and finally feeling it. Damn.

#6 ·
Just turned 50; ride my BMW S1000RR to work every day, track it as often as I can (12+times a year) have put 44,000 plus miles on my 2011 in the last 24 months.

Been riding since I was 7 years old and still can't find anything else I love as much as Motorcycles. I will ride until I can't walk anymore. I know a local rider who rides a Yamaha R6 and still does trackdays and he's 81 years old!!!!! When I grow up, I want to be like him... :D

#11 ·
I was born in 1930. Do about 10 track days a year riding in the B group. Plan to be riding with the A group by the end of 2013. Do Sunday morning rides with a wonderful group of rapscallions who are quite quick but not at all crazy.